Something New: Who and Why

Hello! I am an introvert. This means I live a larger portion of my life inside my own head. Some days I am very quiet; however, this in no way means my thoughts are quelled. On the contrary, many days I have more thoughts than I could possibly track.

I am a record keeper.  I like keeping track of, well just about everything in my life. Where did I spend my time, my money, and my resources? How many days this week did I exercise, eat right, and stick to my plan? How often did I take my girls (dogs) out for adventures and exercise?

I am creative. I love crafting things with my hands or mind. I enjoy drawing, painting, taking photos, creating graphics, building websites, solving problems, carving pumpkins, baking and decorating cakes, and waffle art. Wait, waffle art? Yes, I’m thirty one, and I still enjoy playing with my food!

I love to read good fictional stories. Admittedly, I don’t read nearly as much as I did in my teen years. However, just as I always have done, when I do take the time to start a fictional book I will barely put it down until I’ve read the whole thing. I get wrapped up in the characters and the story, and I don’t want to leave that world until I must.

Now that I am older, self improvement has become more important to me. Thus I read more nonfiction books and articles. I spend more time reading these as I want to soak up as much of the helpful information as possible, so I pour over each page making sure not to miss a word.

Spoken word—even in my native English language—does not come easily for me. Speaking aloud sometimes seems like an unnecessary chore. Writing, though certainly not a time saver, has always come easier to me than communicating aloud. I found out long ago that keeping a journal allowed me to concentrate my thoughts and get some of the millions of thoughts out of my head. When composing a written message to communicate with others, I generally have more time to think than I would simply speaking with them. This means among many things more time to choose just the right words, more time to make sure my meaning is best communicated, and more time to present myself in the manner I hope to be seen.

I am visual learner. I process things better when I can see them. I understand words better when I can see them. I can often get myself back to a place I have only been once before even if it has been awhile. I do this using visual triggers as I make my way towards the destination.

I love sharing knowledge I have acquired. Teaching others has always been something I have enjoyed.

These attributes are some of the reasons blogging appeals to me. After my husband plunged into the world of blogging, it was only a matter of time before I followed. His enthusiasm for things he loves is very contagious. So here I am, writing my first post. I have created this blog as an unabridged, anything goes space. It will be my outlet for whatever fancies me at the moment, the variety of things which encompass my varied interests, scattered thoughts and opinions, and some of my occurrences and experiences. I hope it will be an outlet for me to organize the chaos in my head, and possibly stir my creativity. If I enjoy writing here, I hope to start a few more focused blogs in areas of special interest to me.

I am using The Daily Post‘s Blogging U Blogging 101: Zero to Hero series as a challenge to kick start my posts. Today is Day One, and my assignment was to write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post. Day One complete, only twenty nine more days to go—wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Something New: Who and Why

  1. Dyanne Pauline says:

    Hi again! We seem to be so much alike, you know. Only difference is I’ve turned more into an ambivert these days and that even though I haven’t reached past my teenage years, I’ve already moved past my nonfiction days. Plus younger, it seems.

    Goodluck on your development too. I hope you’d enjoy writing here and find whatever interests you. 😀

  2. Oh goody, a new word—ambivert! I often err on the side introverted in someways, but would consider myself pretty well balanced others. I did not realize there was a word for that. 😀

    Thanks for the well wishes.

Leave a Reply

